Advertisement

Previous poll Next poll

Do you think KU faculty members should be subject to post-tenure review?

Response Percent Votes
Yes
 
85% 452
No
 
10% 57
Unsure
 
3% 20
Total 529

Comments

KansasLiberal 1 year, 10 months ago

If there's post-tenure review then what's the point of tenure?

0

George_Braziller 1 year, 10 months ago

I had some tenured professors who were completely worthless as instructors. It was obvious they were bored with teaching and were just going through the motions.

1

blindrabbit 1 year, 10 months ago

If we are paying their salaries, then yes by all means. In any other profession, people with similiar responsibilities would understand that they are expected to recieve a performance review.

0

Blessed4x 1 year, 10 months ago

EVERYONE should be subject to a performance review with loss of your job as a possible outcome for the most serious cases. Only by this method can we insure that the best people are in the correct position.

0

yourworstnightmare 1 year, 10 months ago

Tenure means that you cannot be fired for the work you do or the ideas you espouse.

Tenure does not mean that you cannot be fired for being unproductive.

There are already procedures in place to fire unproductive faculty, they are just never enforced.

0

chootspa 1 year, 10 months ago

So enforce the procedures. Problem solved.

0

Lawrence Morgan 1 year, 10 months ago

Absolutely. I have had the same experience as George_Brazillier above. There should be constant reviews of tenure, perhaps every five years. NO ONE should receive a job for life!

0

beatrice 1 year, 10 months ago

No one? What about the Supreme Court?

When Democrats are in charge, do they get to "review" Clarence Thomas? Who is doing the reviewing and what is the criteria?

0

beatrice 1 year, 10 months ago

I believe there should be a standard criteria for reviewing tenured professors. Some do become tenured, then just coast on their past accomplishments. It just can't be based on the same criteria it takes to make tenure.

0

Commenting has been disabled for this item.