Discovery Furniture 785-856-8444

Visit website 2525 Iowa St, Lawrence, KS 66046 Open today until 8 p.m.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 3 ratings. 3 user reviews. 3 reviews

Details

  • American Express
  • Mastercard
  • Visa
  • Check

Business affiliations

  • Best of Lawrence 2013
  • Phone: 785-856-8444
  • Fax: 785-856-8451

This business appears in: Home and Garden, Bed & Bath, Furniture, Home Decor

Reviews

Rating: 4

Daniel McCarville Discovery Furniture

I recently bought a small kitchen table and stools. The sales person that helped me out was friendly and knowledgable about the products and prices. I ended up with a nice set at a decent price and had it delivered no problem within the week.

Discovery Furniture was the third furniture store in Lawrence I visited. I definitely think I made the right choice.

Cathy Carley replies...

I agree, they are very nice and helpful.

Rating: 3

Cathy Carley Discovery Furniture

I just bought my living room set at Room Makers, how nice they were to me and promises they made. They worked real hard to help me find something that would fit in my small living room. I was looking for a couch and matching rocker/recliner and found something, the problem was that they did not have the matching recliner in the store, they had one in Topeka, I said I could go down and test it out (I needed the right fit). They said I did not have to do that, and if I did not like it, (new or from the floor in Topeka) that they would replace it with something else and if I wanted a matching living room set I could trade it off for something else (no extra charge, she said that she will put it in the note in the computer). WELL the problem is that the recliner does not stay reclined and my heal is hang off the end causing a sore, (I would NOT have bought this recliner if I would have tested it out first) so I informed them of this and they do not recall anything they promised. The assistant manager said that the sales person never informed her that I came in nor called. I looked at my sale slip and there was no special notes, and when I went there tonight she said that she did not say anything like that and there was not notes in the computer that said this. SHAME on me for believing them. ALWAYS GET THINGS IN WRITING!!! NEVER BELIEVE THE PROMISES THEY GIVE. There is a good thing that happened, the delivery was on time. (I was at work and my daughter was here to let them in so I cannot comment as to what all happened). side note: to my surprise my new furniture was hard maybe because it was new, who knew (the couch in the store was much softer). Side note, Jess the manager contacted me and is trying to work with me. Thank you!!!

jlw replies...

I apologize for the mis-communication that you have experienced. I am committed to ensure you have a good experience with us and we will make this right. We have a trip planned to your home to address the issues. One of the benefits of working with a local family business is that the owner can be directly involved to ensure your satisfaction. Feel free to contact me by calling the store and asking for Jamie.

Cathy Carley replies...

Thank you Jess for all you have done. Was in there today and Mark, thank you for helping me again, again I will say you ROCK. He told me on these recliners you have to set in it the right way for it to stay back, (who knew) I am working on it. and Megan thank you as well for all you have done to help me in picking something out that fit my small living room.

Rating: 1

fair Discovery Furniture

I purchased a bedroom set, I was informed it would take 4- 5 weeks for delivery, It has been 8 weeks and nothing. I recived a call that they would deliver the furniture by a certain time, 2 hrs later nothing. I will never buy anything else from this store, and I would not recommends this store. Drive to NFM it takes usually less than 2 weeks, and if there are any issues they work with you and recompense you somehow. With Discovery furniture you are stuck.

Business reply Jwinter replies...

Thanks for your review, as it will help us improve our service. It is completely unacceptable that you had to deal with this experience and we sincerely apologize. We do our best to communicate the information we receive in regards to estimating the exact date of delivery on our merchandise. We make every effort to check availability of warehouse stock before letting you know the delivery timeline, occasionally our estimates are off due to popular products being oversold during a busy weekend, and suppliers not being able to keep up with production on certain collections. We strive to do our best to make things right and offer several options during these times such as reselection and refunds, but unfortunately things don't always go perfectly. We apologize again for your poor experience and appreciate your feedback.