No new City Commission candidates file for election; primary election not required

photo by: Contributed and file photos

The candidates for the 2019 Lawrence City Commission election are, from top left, Brad Finkeldei, Rob Sands and Ken Easthouse, and from bottom left, Joey Hentzler, Stuart Boley and Courtney Shipley.

The filing deadline passed Monday without any additional candidates filing for election to the Lawrence City Commission.

The seats of commissioners Stuart Boley, Leslie Soden and Matthew Herbert are up for reelection this year, and both Soden and Herbert have announced that they would not seek reelection.

Six candidates have filed for the election, meaning that a primary election will not be required. City ordinance requires a primary when the number of candidates is more than two times the number of open seats.

The six candidates are attorney and nonprofit board member Brad Finkeldei; Kansas Army National Guard officer and planning commissioner Rob Sands; neighborhood leader and city board member Ken Easthouse; social advocate and community board member Joey Hentzler; retired auditor and community volunteer Boley; and neighborhood leader and community board member Courtney Shipley.

The general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 5.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.