2020 Primary Voters Guide: Get to know the candidates in Douglas County, state races

photo by: Sylas May/Journal-World Graphic

Lots of big local offices are up for election this year — Douglas County commissioners, sheriff, district attorney and more — and quite a few of them will be decided in the primaries on Aug. 4. We’ll help you get to know the candidates before you mail in your ballot or head to the polls.

Click here to view all other Journal-World coverage of candidate forums and the latest election developments.

2020 Primary Voters Guide (07-19-20)

Douglas County

County Commission 2nd District — Democratic Primary

Shannon Reid, Lawrence

Sara Taliaferro, Lawrence

Nancy Thellman, Lawrence (incumbent)

County Commission 3rd District — Democratic Primary

Shannon Portillo, Lawrence

Karen Willey, Baldwin City

County Commission 3rd District — Republican Primary

Pam McDermott, Lawrence

Ronald Thacker, Lawrence

District attorney — Democratic Primary

Charles Branson, Lawrence (incumbent)

Cooper Overstreet, Lawrence

Suzanne Valdez, Lawrence

Sheriff — Democratic Primary

Jay Armbrister, Baldwin City

Dale Flory, Baldwin City

Doug Woods, Lawrence

Treasurer — Democratic Primary

Timothy Morland, Lawrence

Adam Rains, Lawrence

Register of deeds — Democratic Primary

Kent Brown, Lawrence

Kim Murphree, Lawrence


Kansas House 10th District — Democratic Primary

Christina Haswood, Lawrence

Brandon Holland, Baldwin City

A.J. Stevens, Baldwin City

Kansas House 42nd District — Republican Primary

Jim Karleskint, Tonganoxie (incumbent)

Lance Neelly, Tonganoxie

Kansas Legislature — Unopposed Races

Several area Democrats face no opposition in 2020 election cycle


U.S. House 2nd District

Republican primary sets stage for potentially close congressional race

U.S. Senate

Kansas prepares for consequential Senate primary, general election


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.