Candidate profiles for 2019 Lawrence city, school board elections

photo by: Contributed and file photos

The six candidates for the 2019 Lawrence City Commission election, at top, and the five candidates for the 2019 Lawrence school board election, at bottom.

Residents of Lawrence will elect new leaders to the Lawrence City Commission and the Lawrence school board on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

In the lead-up to that election, the Journal-World has interviewed the six candidates for three seats on the City Commission and the five candidates for the four at-large positions on the school board. Read those profiles at the links below.

Advance voting will start Wednesday, Oct. 16, and the last day to register to vote is Tuesday, Oct. 15.

Lawrence City Commission candidates

Stuart Boley

Ken Easthouse

Brad Finkeldei

Joey Hentzler

Rob Sands

Courtney Shipley

Lawrence school board candidates

Carole Cadue-Blackwood

Shannon Kimball

Erica Hill

Thea Perry

Paula Smith


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.