2019 Lawrence election results: Finkeldei, Shipley, Boley win City Commission seats

photo by: Nick Krug

A collection of "I voted" stickers is pictured at the Douglas County Courthouse in this file photo from Nov. 3, 2016.

Stories from Tuesday’s election

Finkeldei, Shipley and Boley win seats on the Lawrence City Commission

Erica Hill earns most votes in Lawrence school board election; Cadue-Blackwood, Kimball, Smith also elected

3 new members elected to Baldwin City Council; 1 newcomer to join two incumbents on Eudora City Commission

Kansas voters pass constitutional amendment to end census adjustments for redistricting

Voter turnout for city and school board races near 22%

Voters around the city showed up at the polls Tuesday to decide races for open seats on the Lawrence City Commission and the Lawrence school board.

Around the state, voters also were asked to approve a constitutional amendment that would affect the amount of representation in the Kansas Legislature.

The Journal-World will update this page with results throughout the evening as votes are counted. For results of races in Baldwin City, Eudora, Lecompton and other areas of the county, please refer to the Douglas County Elections Department’s website.

Polls closed at 7 p.m., and the elections office said that it would be at least 7:30 p.m. before the first advance voting numbers were released.

Full coverage of the Lawrence races will follow on LJWorld.com throughout the evening. Previous Journal-World coverage of the candidates, their stances and responses at public forums can be found on this page.

Refresh page for latest results

Last updated: 10:18 p.m. Tuesday

Local races

Lawrence City Commission

(Top 3 win seats)

Candidate Votes Percent
Brad Finkeldei 7,676 22%
Courtney Shipley 6,904 20%
Stuart Boley 6,103 17%
Joey Hentzler 5,764 16%
Rob Sands 5,497 16%
Ken Easthouse 2,967 8%
Write-in 182 1%
(Unofficial results as of 10:18 p.m.)

Lawrence USD 497 School Board

(Top 4 win seats)

Candidate Votes Percent
Erica Hill 9,102 23%
Shannon Kimball 8,337 21%
Carole Cadue-Blackwood 8,294 21%
Paula Smith 6,935 18%
Thea Perry 6,667 17%
Write-in 264 1%
(Unofficial results as of 10:18 p.m.)

State race

Constitutional amendment

More on the amendment: Journal-World coverage

Option Votes Percent
Yes 177,580 60%
No 117,754 40%
(Unofficial results, 245 of 315 reporting) 78% reporting
*results of this race will no longer be updated on this page

Results provided by: Douglas County Elections Office and the Kansas Secretary of State’s Office


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.