Archive for Friday, June 12, 2009

Sunflower Girls State conducts inauguration

June 12, 2009


At the Sunflower Girls State inauguration ceremony Thursday night, Tara Raghuveer of Mission Woods was sworn in as governor for 2009-2010.

The girls also heard a keynote address from Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh.

About 325 girls from all over the state spent the week at Kansas University learning about citizenship and forming their own city, county and state governments. They wrap up the program today with a trip to the state Capitol and judicial center in Topeka.

Other girls sworn in Thursday night include Lt. Gov. Shelbie Konkel, Haysville; Secretary of State Kristine Larson, Galva; Attorney General Gwendolyn Baumgardner, Louisburg; State Treasurer Kelsey Carbajo, Spring Hill; and Commissioner of Insurance Ciara Currie, Emporia. The girls also formed a Supreme Court, led by Chief Justice Holly Schuessler, Hutchinson. Other justices include Taylor Hiatt, Olathe; Leslie Anne Dixon, Leawood; Claudia Tran, Overland Park; Emily Halter, Leawood; Kristen Gould, Leavenworth; and Shannon Maser, Stilwell.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.