Now that the filing deadline has passed, here are the candidates for area races

photo by: Nick Krug

A collection of "I voted" stickers is pictured at the Douglas County Courthouse in this file photo from Nov. 3, 2016.

The election races are set.

On Monday, the deadline to file for election to Douglas County and local state offices passed, setting up some primary elections later this summer.

Primary elections are scheduled for Aug. 4. Primary winners will head to a general election on Nov. 3.

While the deadline to file for election has passed, Douglas County Clerk Jamie Shew said the candidate list would not be official until a challenge period expires, which will be on June 15.

Here is the unofficial list of candidates:

Douglas County

County clerk

Jamie Shew, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

County Commission 2nd District

Brett LaRue, Eudora, Republican

Shannon Reid, Lawrence, Democrat

Sara Taliaferro, Lawrence, Democrat

Nancy Thellman, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

County Commission 3rd District

Pam McDermott, Lawrence, Republican

Shannon Portillo, Lawrence, Democrat

Ronald Thacker, Lawrence, Republican

Karen Willey, Baldwin City, Democrat

District attorney

Charles Branson, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

Cooper Overstreet, Lawrence, Democrat

Suzanne Valdez, Lawrence, Democrat

Register of deeds

Kent Brown, Lawrence, Democrat

Kim Murphree, Lawrence, Democrat


Jay Armbrister, Baldwin City, Democrat

Dale Flory, Baldwin City, Democrat

Doug Woods, Lawrence, Democrat


Timothy Morland, Lawrence, Democrat

Adam Rains, Lawrence, Democrat


Kansas Senate 2nd District

Marci Francisco, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

Kansas Senate 3rd District

Willie Dove, Bonner Springs, Republican

Tom Holland, Baldwin City, Democrat (incumbent)

Kansas House 10th District

Christina Haswood, Lawrence, Democrat

Brandon Holland, Baldwin City, Democrat

A.J. Stevens, Baldwin City, Democrat

Kansas House 42nd District

• Jim Karleskint, Tonganoxie, Republican (incumbent)

• Lance Neelly, Tonganoxie, Republican

Kansas House 44th District

Barbara Ballard, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

House 45th District

Mike Amyx, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)

Kansas House 46th District

Dennis “Boog” Highberger, Lawrence, Democrat (incumbent)


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.