Archive for Thursday, November 15, 2012

No changes after official Douglas County canvass

November 15, 2012


A final tally of all he votes cast in Douglas County in the Nov. 6 general election did not change the results in any of those races.

The race in the 54th district of the Kansas House drew the most attention locally, even though most of that district lies in Shawnee County. On election night, incumbent Ann Mah, D-Topeka, trailed her Republican challenger, Ken Corbet, by just 27 votes.

The district includes a small portion of western Douglas County. It also includes a portion of Osage County. The final canvass in Douglas County added four provisional ballots that had been cast in that race, resulting in a net gain of two votes for Mah. But Corbet still carried Douglas County in the race by a final tally of 318-281.

One other local race remained close after election night, but the canvass did not change the results.

In the race for Marion Township Treasurer, Republican Bernie R. Faust edged out Democrat James E. Jolly by 11 votes, 230 to 219.

Most other races in Douglas County were decided by margins too large to be altered by the addition of provisional and write-in ballots.

In the only contested county commission race, Democrat Nancy Thellman was re-elected over challenger Frank Male, 63 percent to 37 percent.

County Commissioner James Flory, a Republican, was unopposed in his race.

District Attorney Charles Branson, County Clerk Jamie Shew, Treasurer Paula Gilchrist, Register of Deeds Kay Pesnell and Sheriff Kenneth McGovern also ran unopposed.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.