Archive for Thursday, May 24, 2012

Obama signs disaster declaration for 14 Kansas counties

May 24, 2012


President Barack Obama on Thursday signed a disaster declaration affecting 14 counties that were hit last month by severe weather.

The declaration means federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding, the White House said.

The counties receiving the declaration are: Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kiowa, Mitchell, Osborne, Rice, Rush, Russell, Sedgwick, Stafford, and Sumner.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


Steve Bunch 5 years, 11 months ago

Presumably the governor will reject this attempt at federal intervention into the state's business.

Greg Cooper 5 years, 11 months ago

Oughta be a disaster declaration for the whole state after alll Sam has done to us.

Fred Whitehead Jr. 5 years, 11 months ago

What is wrong with you people, ole Sammy has done a great job of getting Kansa up to speed with the eighteenth century!! He had a record in the senate (which is being nobly defended by the current crop of U.S. Senators from Nowherekansas, Mr Moron and Mr Robber. Where were you when this guy wass running for,uh,,, what is his office????

Commenting has been disabled for this item.