Archive for Thursday, July 28, 2011

Eight more Kansas counties sign up for rural incentive program

July 28, 2011


— The Kansas Department of Commerce says eight more counties will participate in a program designed to lure new residents to rural areas.

The Topeka Capital-Journal reports that with the eight new additions, the Rural Opportunity Zone program now has 28 counties.

The commerce department announced Wednesday that Sherman, Thomas, Decatur, Norton, Clark, Smith, Stafford and Harper counties have joined the program.

The program provides a state income tax exemption to out-of-state residents who relocate to the counties. Counties in the program can take part in a state matching program to repay student loans up to $15,000 for Kansas students.

The 20 counties already opting into the program are Barber, Graham, Hamilton, Kearny, Mitchell, Morton, Ness, Stanton, Trego, Wichita, Greeley, Hodgeman, Kingman, Lane, Pratt, Rooks, Russell, Scott, Wallace and Woodson.


weeslicket 6 years, 6 months ago

28 counties are enrolled. how many persons are enrolled?

Commenting has been disabled for this item.