Archive for Thursday, May 20, 2010

Most Kansas representatives have already filed for re-election

May 20, 2010


— Most members of the Kansas House want to be back in the Statehouse next year.

All 125 House seats are on the ballot this year and 88 incumbents have already filed for re-election, well ahead of the June 10 deadline.

The latest to file this week was Democrat Dolores Furtado of Overland Park. Also filing this week was Pittsburg Democrat Julie Menghini (mehn-GEE'-nee).

Thirty of the 49 House Democrats and 58 of the incumbent Republicans have secured spots on the Aug. 3 party primary ballots.

Majority Leader Ray Merrick, a Stilwell Republican, and Minority Leader Paul Davis, a Lawrence Democrat, are also among those seeking re-election.

All 40 Kansas Senate seats are on the ballot in presidential election years.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.