Statehouse Live: Brownback names advisory team on environment, energy

Gov.-elect Sam Brownback on Thursday announced the team that will make recommendations on rules and regulations of state agencies that deal with the environment and energy.

The group is meeting this week with officials from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks, Kansas Water Office, Kansas Biological Survey, and Kansas Geological Survey.

“Key to achieving the Brownback administration’s priority of growing the state economy will be to create a fair and consistent regulatory environment,” Brownback’s transition chair Kenny Wilk said.

The energy and environment “outreach team” is led by Jay Garetson, a rancher and ethanol producer from Sublette.

Other members include Lou Reeve, a rancher and ethanol producer from Garden City; Dean Gray, a researcher from Kansas City; Terry Tomlinson, Sustainable Redevelopment, Lenexa; Clint Robinson, water industry, Overland Park; Dave Murfin, oil and gas developer, Wichita; Dick Hayter, mechanical engineer, Manhattan; and Melissa Carpenter, environmental engineer, Wichita.