Archive for Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Disaster declaration signed for 34 Kansas counties

August 11, 2010


— President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster in 34 Kansas counties hit by storms and flooding in June and July.

Obama issued a disaster declaration Tuesday.

The declaration makes local governments and some nonprofit groups eligible for federal aid to repair or replace facilities damaged by flooding, storms and tornadoes.

Most of the counties are in eastern, central and north-central Kansas.

Counties covered by the declaration are: Atchison, Brown, Butler, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Doniphan, Ellis, Franklin, Greenwood, Harvey, Jewell, Kiowa, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Smith, Wabaunsee, Washington and Woodson.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.