Archive for Friday, April 20, 2007

Five chosen nationwide for Teachers Hall of Fame

April 20, 2007


— Five teachers from across the nation have been chosen for induction into the National Teachers Hall of Fame in Emporia.

The honorees will be inducted in ceremonies June 14-16 in Emporia.

The 2007 class is Norman Dale Conard of Uniontown; Edna Loveday Rogers of Sevierville, Tenn.; Geri Rohlff, of Auburn, Wash.; John Snyder of Las Vegas and Joseph W. Underwood of Davie, Fla.

Conard teaches social studies and video production at Uniontown High School in southeast Kansas. He has taught for 29 years, including nine years in Los Angeles.

Rogers, who has taught for 33 years, currently teaches kindergarten at Sevierville Primary School in Sevierville, Tenn.

Rohlff has taught for 31 years, the last 17 of those in Auburn, Wash. She is a language arts, study skills and alternative education teacher at Auburn Riverside High School.

Snyder is a high school computer science teacher for Advanced Technologies Academy in Las Vegas. He has taught for 36 years, including nine years in North Dakota and one year in Wichita.

Underwood has taught for 21 years, all of it at Miami Senior High School in Florida, where he currently teaches television and moviemaking.

Hall of Fame members get a $1,000 scholarship for a student in their district who is interested in teaching, $1,000 in educational materials and a signet ring and lapel pin.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.