Archive for Thursday, December 1, 2005

Senators win awards for opening up government

December 1, 2005


— Three state senators received awards for their work in opening up government records.

Anthony Hensley, D-Topeka, Kay O'Connor, R-Olathe, and Tim Huelskamp, R-Fowler, received Friends of Open Government awards given by the Kansas Sunshine Coalition for Open Government.

Earlier this year, the Legislature approved the so-called "Lew Perkins" law, named after Kansas University's athletic director, which makes public compensation agreements of anyone involved in a public position.

Lawmakers also approved a measure that requires all county and district attorneys to report annually on open records and open meetings complaints that they receive.

The Sunshine Coalition, now based at Wichita State University, is working to enhance awareness about open government in Kansas.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.