Archive for Wednesday, December 11, 2002

Sloan to lead higher ed committee

December 11, 2002


— State Rep. Tom Sloan, R-Lawrence, on Tuesday was appointed chairman of the House Higher Education Committee.

"He is a natural fit to chair this important committee," said House Speaker-elect Doug Mays, R-Topeka.

What follows is a look at other House committee chairmen named by Mays. All are Republicans. An "x" designates a holdover chairman from the 2001 and 2002 sessions:

  • Agriculture: Dan Johnson, Hays (x).
  • Appropriations: Melvin Neufeld, Ingalls.
  • Commerce and Labor: Don Dahl, Hillsboro.
  • Corrections and Juvenile Justice: Ward Loyd, Garden City.
  • Economic Development: Kenny Wilk, Lansing.
  • Education: Kathe Decker, Clay Center.
  • Environment: Joann Freeborn, Concordia (x).
  • Ethics and Elections: Don Myers, Derby.
  • Federal and State Affairs: Bill Mason, El Dorado.
  • Financial Institutions: Ray Cox, Bonner Springs (x).
  • Health and Human Services: Jim Morrison, Colby.
  • Insurance: Patricia Barbieri-Lightner, Overland Park.
  • Judiciary: Mike O'Neal, Hutchinson (x).
  • Local Government: Jene Vickrey, Louisburg.
  • Parks and Tourism: Becky Hutchins, Holton.
  • Rules and Journal: Tim Owens, Overland Park.
  • Taxation: John Edmonds, Great Bend (x).
  • Transportation: Gary Hayzlett, Lakin (x).
  • Utilities: Carl Dean Holmes, Liberal (x).

Commenting has been disabled for this item.