School board candidate no longer campaigning for seat; primary will still take place

photo by: Rochelle Valverde/Journal-World

The Lawrence school board convenes for a special meeting on May 31, 2023.

Updated at 4:15 p.m. Tuesday, June 27, 2023

Tierra Teske will not be campaigning for a seat on the Lawrence school board for the upcoming primary election, even though her name will still be on the ballot for the special election.

Teske confirmed to the Journal-World on Tuesday that she is planning to move to Kansas City, Kansas, citing personal reasons for her imminent departure from Lawrence.

“I’m going to be living in Kansas City for a month and a half, but will probably be moving back to Lawrence,” Teske said. “It’s been a difficult choice, but perhaps I’ll be more ready next time around.”

Teske’s move would not satisfy a residency requirement for candidates.

Because she did not remove her name prior to the June 1 filing deadline, Teske’s name will remain on the ballot for the primary election. Douglas County Clerk Jamie Shew said that the Aug. 1 primary will still take place.

Shew told the Journal-World on Monday that his office was unaware of Teske’s intentions.

“She has not contacted the County Clerk’s Office; we have not heard anything from her,” he said.

Teske filed to run specifically for a seat vacated by former school board member Andrew Nussbaum, who was elected in 2021 but resigned less than seven months into his term. The board appointed Ronald “G.R.” Gordon-Ross to fill Nussbaum’s seat through the end of this year. Along with Teske, Ariel Miner, Justine Burton and current board President Shannon Kimball have filed for that seat as part of a special election.

The primary is being held because the number of candidates who filed is more than three times the number of open seats.

Editor’s note: This story and headline have been revised to correct that Teske’s entrance into the race did not trigger the primary, as she filed earlier than two other candidates.


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.