Archive for Saturday, May 12, 2012

KU faculty members to be honored with distinguished teaching awards

May 12, 2012


Six Kansas University faculty members will be honored Sunday at Commencement with distinguished teaching awards.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Classroom Teaching honor faculty from KU Medical Center.

This year’s recipients are Won Choi, associate professor of preventive medicine and public health; John Dorsch, associate professor of family and community medicine; and Beth Levant, associate professor of pharmacology, toxicology and therapeutics.

Three faculty members from the Lawrence campus will also be honored. Timothy Jackson, assistant professor of chemistry, will receive the Silver Anniversary Award, which comes with a $2,500 prize.

Donna Ginther, professor of economics, has won the Byron Shutz Award, to honor exceptional teaching in economics and business. She will receive a $4,000 prize.

Dave Tell, assistant professor of communication studies, will receive the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award, honoring distinguished teaching, scholarship and service. That award comes with a $5,000 prize.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.