Archive for Friday, May 11, 2012

Chancellor to bestow honors

May 11, 2012


Ten Kansas University students will be honored Sunday with 2012 Chancellor’s Student Awards during the university’s 140th Commencement.

The awards, which honor students’ academic, volunteer and leadership accomplishments, are:

• The Class of 1913 Award, to Erin Atwood, Topeka, and Greg Loving, McPherson, for a graduating man and woman who show evidence of intelligence, devotion to studies, personal character and promise of usefulness to society.

• The Donald K. Alderson Memorial Award, to Julia Barnard, Lawrence, for a graduating senior who has demonstrated loyalty to and interest in the university and been active in events and services that benefit other students.

• The Alexis F. Dillard Student Involvement Award, to Paige Blevins, Great Bend, and Amber Jackson, Kansas City, Kan., for graduating seniors who have unselfishly contributed to the university through campus involvement.

• The Rusty Leffel Concerned Student Awards, to Libby Johnson and Emily Lamb, both of Lawrence, for students who demonstrate a concern for furthering the ideals of the university and higher education.

• The Caryl K. Smith Student Leader Award, to Ben Pyle, of Ames, Iowa, for a fraternity or sorority member who has demonstrated commitment to the KU greek, Lawrence and university communities.

• The Agnes Wright Strickland Awards, to Hunter Hess, McPherson, and Megan Ritter, Overland Park, in recognition of their academic records, demonstrated leadership in matters of university concern, respect among fellow students and indications of future dedication to service in the university.

The winners are selected by a committee of faculty, students and staff and are drawn from nominations submitted by members of the university community.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.