Three Jayhawks get Hall call

Jaynes, Simien, Stallworth to be enshrined

July 10, 2012


Former Kansas University standouts David Jaynes, Wayne Simien and Bud Stallworth are among the nine members of the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2012, it was announced Tuesday.

Jaynes passed for then-records of 5,132 yards and 35 touchdowns and led KU to second place in the Big Eight in 1973, when he threw for 2,131 yards. He was an All-American that year and was a third-round selection by the Kansas City Chiefs.

Simien scored over 1,500 points and grabbed 884 rebounds in leading KU to a 110-28 record with three Big 12 titles and four NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 2003 national championship game. Simien was a consensus All-American in 2005 and Big 12 player of the year.

Stallworth was one of just three KU basketball players to earn All-America honors on the court and in the classroom. He was the 1972 Big Eight player of the year, when he averaged 25.3 points per game, and an academic All-American in 1971.

The other inductees: former Kansas State QB Michael Bishop; women’s basketball coach (Allen County CC, Trinity Valley CC, Louisiana Tech, Oklahoma State) Kurt Budke; Wichita State track and field standout Harold Manning; ex-K-State basketball player Willie Murrell; standout tennis player and coach David Snyder; and Emporia State softball pitcher Brenda Stolle.

Budke and Manning are posthumous selections.

Enshrinement will be Oct. 7 at the Hall in Wichita.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.