Archive for Thursday, August 25, 2011

KU sociology professor surprised with Kemper Fellowship, $7,500

August 25, 2011


Kansas University Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little surprised Joey Sprague, professor of sociology, with a Kemper Fellowship on Thursday.

Sprague is the sixth professor on the Lawrence campus to receive the award recognizing excellence in teaching this year. She has been a member of the KU faculty since 1984, and joined the KU Women’s Hall of Fame in 2009.

Supported by the William T. Kemper Foundation and KU Endowment, the recognition comes with a $7,500 cash award. Sprague joins other 2011 winners Jorge Pérez, Anna Neill, Andrea Herstowski, Robert Ward and Arvin Agah.

Seven professors on the Lawrence campus are scheduled to receive a fellowship this year, along with three faculty members from KU Medical Center.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.