Archive for Tuesday, March 30, 2010

KU debaters cap year with ‘final four’ appearance

March 30, 2010


Coming off an intense two weeks of sleep-deprived preparation and debate, Kansas University’s debate coach said he was happy with this year’s national tournament results.

KU teams made deep tournament runs in both the National Debate Tournament and in the Cross Examination Debate Association tournaments, said Scott Harris, KU debate coach.

“We had a successful year,” he said. “It was a very satisfying and rewarding performance.”

The team of Dylan Quigley and Sean Kennedy made it to the final four in the CEDA tournament, and defeated the top overall seed from the University of Texas-Dallas before losing to Whitman College.

That tournament involved 208 teams from across the country.

Debaters Christopher Stone and Patrick Kennedy took fifth place at the CEDA tournament.

At the NDT tournament, which featured a more elite 78-team field of the top teams in the nation, KU qualified three teams of debaters for the second time in the school’s history.

Two teams made it past preliminary qualifying rounds to the single-elimination bracket. There, Quigley and Kennedy made the deepest tournament run, losing to eventual tournament champion Michigan State in the round of 16.


yankeevet 8 years ago

Wow.......thats exciting...........

stuckinthemiddle 8 years ago

most people don't know it but KU is as big if not bigger powerhouse in debate as they are in basketball... five time National Debate Tournament champions... the latest one in 2009... just last year... no other state/public school in the nation comes close to KU's success in debate over the past sixty years... and only a few private schools have exceeded them...

rockchalk jayhawk…

Commenting has been disabled for this item.