Archive for Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Higuchi award winners named

October 7, 2009


Two Kansas University professors and two Kansas State University professors are the recipients of the 2009 Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards.

The awards honor outstanding research by faculty members at KU and other Kansas Board of Regents institutions. The program was established by Takeru Higuchi, a distinguished professor at KU from 1967 to 1983, and his late widow, Aya.

The awards and recipients are:

• Balfour Jeffrey Award in Humanities and Social Sciences: Arienne Dwyer, associate professor of linguistic anthropology at KU.

• Dolph Simons Award in Biomedical Sciences: Steven Barlow, professor of speech-language-hearing at KU.

• Irvin Youngberg Award for Applied Sciences: Charles Rice, distinguished professor of agronomy at Kansas State University.

• Olin Petefish Award in Basic Science: Duy Hua, distinguished professor of chemistry at K-State.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.