Archive for Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Two KU debate teams now qualified for nationals

March 18, 2009


Kansas University has qualified two teams to compete in the National Debate Tournament championships, scheduled for March 26-31 at the University of Texas-Austin.

Brett Bricker, Wichita senior, and Nate Johnson, Manhattan senior, qualified as one of the top 16 teams in the country. Sean Kennedy, a Leawood sophomore, and Dylan Quigley, Wichita junior, earned their qualification through a district tournament Feb. 27-March 1 at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Additionally, two KU teams will travel March 21-24 to Idaho State University in Pocatello for the national Cross-Examination Debate Association championship. Patrick Kennedy, a Leawood sophomore, and Erum Shah, an Overland Park senior, will join Mark Wilkins, a Topeka sophomore, and Andrew Jack, a Manhattan junior, at the tournament.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.