Archive for Monday, March 2, 2009

Self named finalist for USBWA coach of the year

March 2, 2009


Kansas coach Bill Self is one of ten finalists for the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's Henry Iba Award, given annually to the association's choice for coach of the year.

Last week, KU guard Sherron Collins was named a finalist for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Trophy, which is presented to the association's player of the year.

Self is among three Big 12 coaches that were named finalists for the Iba Award, along with Oklahoma's Jeff Capel and Missouri's Mike Anderson. The other finalists are: John Calipari, Memphis; Jamie Dixon, Pittsburgh; Mike Montgomery, California; Stew Morrill, Utah State; Matt Painter, Purdue; Oliver Purnell, Clemson; and Brad Stevens, Butler.

Both the Henry Iba and Oscar Robertson Awards will be presented on April 3 in Detroit.


blindrabbit 9 years, 2 months ago

Calipari: You have to be kidding! Not to knock KU but the carry-over from his coaching in last year's championship game should permanently ban him from this list.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.