Archive for Sunday, June 14, 2009

Journalism students win Hearst awards

June 14, 2009


Kansas University students were among the top finishers in San Francisco recently at the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards national championships.

Competing among 24 of the winners of monthly competitions, Mark Dent finished second and Rustin Dodd finished third in the national writing championship. Dent earned a $4,000 scholarship, and Dodd earned a $3,000 scholarship.

Matt Erickson won the Best Reporting Technique award, earning a $1,000 scholarship, for his work on an article published in The University Daily Kansan called “Facing the Music,” about students’ legal battles with the recording industry.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.