Archive for Thursday, October 23, 2008

16 attorneys apply for Douglas County judgeship

October 23, 2008


Sixteen area attorneys have applied to replace Douglas County District Judge Jack Murphy when he retires on Jan. 12.

The Kansas Office of Judicial Administration an-nounced the applicants Thursday afternoon.

Applicants include David J. Brown, Lawrence, private practice; Daniel A. Dunbar, Lawrence, a Shawnee County assistant district attorney; James T. George, a Lawrence attorney who recently was appointed Douglas County District Court judge pro tem; J.C. Gilroy, Lawrence, private practice; Chelsi Kay Hayden, Lawrence, permanent chambers counsel for U.S. District Judge Carlos Murguia; Barbara Kay Huff, Lawrence, private practice; Kenneth P. Kula, Lawrence, private practice; Randall F. Larkin, Lawrence, private practice; and Martin L. Miller, Lawrence, private practice.

The other applicants are Sally Davis Pokorny, Lawrence, private practice; Timothy G. Riling, Lawrence, private practice; Ronald Schneider, Lawrence, private practice; Jeffrey S. Southard, Lawrence, private practice; Cheryl L. Trenholm, Lawrence, private practice; Suzanne Valdez, Kansas University law school associate professor; and Kenneth M. Warner, Eudora, an assistant U.S. attorney for Missouri.

The district's judicial nominating commission will interview applicants on Nov. 12. The commission will send two or three names to Gov. Kathleen Sebelius, who will make the appointment.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.