Archive for Thursday, June 12, 2008

Area political races taking shape

June 12, 2008


When the candidate filing deadline passed on Tuesday, County Commission seats attracted the most attention in area counties.

Two former law enforcement officers will face each other in the Aug. 5 primary election in Jefferson County's 2nd Commission District.

David Christy, the Republican incumbent, is seeking a second term as commissioner. He is challenged by Republican Roy Dunnaway, Perry, who earlier this year retired after serving 25 years as the county's sheriff.

Christy, of Meriden, is a retired Kansas Bureau of Investigation agent, who now works as an airplane inspector. No Democrats filed for the position.

In the 3rd Commission district, several candidates are challenging Democratic incumbent Francis Grollmes, of Valley Falls. A primary will be needed because two other Democrats also filed for the position: Ronald C. Herring, Winchester; and Fairley McCain, Valley Falls.

A primary also will be needed on the Republican side where LaVerne Clark, and Richard Malm, both of Valley Falls, are commission candidates.

The only other contested race in Jefferson County is for county attorney. Caleb Stegall, a Perry attorney, is running against incumbent Michael Hayes, Oskaloosa. They are Republicans. No Democrats filed.

Running unopposed for re-election are Clerk Linda Buttron and Register of Deeds Delia Heston, both Republicans.

Republican Jeff Herrig is running unopposed for his first full term as sheriff. Herrig was picked by county Republicans to replace Dunnaway after working several years as undersheriff.

Franklin County

In Franklin County a primary will be held on the Republican ticket in the races for 2nd District Commissioner and sheriff.

Incumbent Roy C. Dunn, Ottawa, is challenged by David J. Hood, also of Ottawa.

Running against incumbent Sheriff Craig Davis, Ottawa, are Jim Horn and Tony LeMaster, both from Ottawa.

Running for sheriff on the Democratic ticket is Byron Goracke, Williamsburg.

Candidates for 2nd District commissioner are Republican incumbent John "Ed" Taylor, Ottawa, and Democrat John C. Riddle, Ottawa.

Running unopposed for re-election are County Clerk Shari Perry, Ottawa; Treasurer Debbie Hough, Ottawa; County Attorney Heather Jones, Ottawa, all Republicans; and Register of Deeds, Sue McCay, Williamsburg, a Democrat.

Leavenworth County

In Leavenworth County, the most highly contested race will be that of County Commission, District 3.

The race includes eight candidates, seven of whom are Republicans.

The lone Democrat is Pete Henderson of Basehor. Henderson is retired from the insurance industry.

District 3's seven republicans are:

¢ John Flower, Bonner Springs, is chairman of the Basehor Planning Commission, president of the Cedar Lakes Homes Association, treasurer of the Basehor Community Library and former sales consultant and manager with AT&T; Inc. and SBC Communications Inc.

¢ Francis L. Hurla, rural Tonganoxie, is owner of Hurla Heating and Cooling in Tonganoxie.

¢ Tony Klamm, Bonner Springs, is a farmer who also works in real estate.

¢ Bill Merkel, rural southern Leavenworth County, is a construction and excavating worker and a former firefighter. He also has served as assistant fire chief and township trustee for Reno Township the past three years.

¢ Beverly Oroke, Tonganoxie, has experience in construction, engineering and marketing. She also is the former wife of Dean Oroke, the current county commissioner for the third district who is not seeking re-election.

¢ Dave Taylor, Tonganoxie, is a retired contractor and former Tonganoxie mayor.

¢ Marvin Torneden, Linwood, is a Basehor-Linwood School District custodian and part-time farmer. He also serves as volunteer firefighter for the Reno Township Fire Department.

The Leavenworth County sheriff race pits Republican Jim Dyson against Democrat and current Sheriff David Zoellner.

As for the county attorney race, it includes Democrat and current county attorney Frank Kohl, former assistant county prosecutor Todd Thompson and Lansing attorney Deb Snider. Both Thompson and Snider are Republicans. Kohl has held the office since 1984. Thompson was an assistant to Kohl, but was fired May 30, the day he informed Kohl he was filing for his job. Thompson said his reason for dismissal was "a lack of judgment and forthrightness in the office."

Snider is a criminal defense attorney with Snider Law Office in Leavenworth.

Running unopposed in this year's election are: Republican Clyde Graeber, County Commission District 2; Republican Janet Klasinski, for County Clerk; Republican Janice Young, for County Treasurer; and Democrat Stacy Driscoll, for County Register of Deeds.

All positions are four-year terms.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.