Archive for Thursday, August 7, 2008

College coach contract notes

August 7, 2008


Some contract notes according to published reports.

¢ Florida's Billy Donovan in June 2007 signed a six-year deal. At the same time, Gators' football coach Urban Meyer agreed to a six-year deal at $3.25 million a year with an option for Year Seven.

¢ UCLA coach Ben Howland's pay rises to $2.3 million in the final year of his deal that runs through 2014-15. He can earn incentives up to $235,000 per annum.

¢ Kentucky coach Billy Gillispie's pay increases $75,000 every year of his seven-year deal. He receives a $50,000 incentive for an NCAA tourney appearance and $1.9 million for endorsements and media appearances. He receives a retention bonus of $1 million after four years and an additional $250,000 annually in the final three years. He can net $750,000 annually in performance incentives, and $100,000 in academic incentives.

¢ Louisville's Rick Pitino will be paid $2.5 million a year if he stays until the end of his contract. The contract paid Pitino a loyalty bonus of $1.75 million on July 1. He will receive loyalty bonuses of $3.6 million in 2010 and 2013 if he stays.

¢ UNC's Roy Williams in May of 2007 signed a four-year extension to keep him through 2014-15. He has various bonus clauses for qualifying for and advancing in the NCAA tournament and for graduation rates that meet or exceed the general student body.

¢ Ohio State's Thad Matta in March of 2005 signed an eight-year deal. He nets $2.8 million for fulfilling media, promotional and public relations responsibilities; $2.7 million from Ohio State's contract with Nike; at least $400,000 for the program's summer camps, and $80,000 in appearance fees from a soft drink manufacturer. There also are incentive bonuses worth $290,000 annually.

¢ Memphis' John Calipari on April 26 signed an extension through the 2012-13 season that includes an annual raise of $500,000 and a $5 million bonus if he stays through the end of the contract.

¢ Tennessee's Bruce Pearl made $1.3 million last season. His new deal increases his salary to an average $2.3 million a year. It includes a $250,000 bonus and an upfront retention bonus of $1.5 million.

¢ Tom Crean's Indiana contract is for 10 years.

¢ Minnesota's Tubby Smith can earn more than $13 million in base, supplemental and camp money over the seven-year contract, and can earn additional money in incentives that could boost his annual salary to more than $3.3 million. Smith will get $250,000 in annual deferred retirement payments beginning in 2011.

¢ MSU's Tom Izzo receives a performance bonus of 30 percent of his base salary if the Spartans reach the Final Four. Izzo received $3.4 million at the end of the 2005-06 season.

¢ K-State's Frank Martin signed a five-year deal last April that provides him a total compensation package of $760,000. His base is $180,000.

¢ Nebraska's Doc Sadler recently received a two-year extension running through 2013-14. His base pay was upped from $700,000 to $800,000.

¢ Texas A&M;'s Mark Turgeon last year signed a five-year contract with an automatic rollover of three years. He earns $1.2 million per year.

¢ Missouri's Mike Anderson reportedly earns $850,000 annually, including media duties. His base salary is $250,000.

Around the country

Here's a look at how Bill Self's new contract compares with some of the other top coaches in the country. It should be noted these figures come from published reports, many from the hometown newspapers covering the teams. KU athletic director Lew Perkins stresses there's no way of telling for sure, but believes Self is likely one of the top five paid coaches in the country.

Billy Donovan (Florida), $3.5 million

Bill Self (Kansas), $3 million

Thad Matta (Ohio State), $2.5 million

John Calipari (Memphis), $2.35 million

Billy Gillispie (Kentucky), $2.3 million

Bruce Pearl (Tennessee), $2.3 million

Tom Crean (Indiana), $2.3 million

Rick Pitino (Louisville), $2.25 million

Rick Barnes (Texas) 2 million

Ben Howland (UCLA), $1.97 million

Roy Williams (North Carolina), $1.8 million

Tubby Smith (Minnesota), $1.75 million

Tom Izzo (Michigan State), $1.7 million


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.