Archive for Monday, November 19, 2007

Collins named one of three Outland finalists

November 19, 2007


KU junior left tackle Anthony Collins was named one of three finalists Monday for the 2007 Outland Trophy, presented each year to the best interior lineman in college football.

Joining Collins are LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey and Michigan left tackle Jake Long. the 62nd Outland Trophy will be presented on Dec. 6 during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show from The Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Neither of the three schools - Kansas, LSU or Michigan - have ever produced an Outland winner.

The Beaumont, Texas, native has been the anchor up front for one of college football's most productive offensive units, which is on the verge of boasting a 1,000-yard rusher (Brandon McAnderson, 1,009), 1,000-yard receiver (Marcus Henry, 977) and a 3,000-yard passer (Todd Reesing, 2,910) for the first time in school history.

In other awards news Monday, Aqib Talib was left off the list of finalists for the Thorpe Award, while Reesing was not a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.