Archive for Thursday, November 15, 2007

Talib named one of five finalists for Nagurski award

November 15, 2007


Kansas Universiy junior cornerback Aqib Talib on Thursday was named one of five finalists for the 2007 Bronko Nagurski award, which is given annually to the nation's top defensive player.

The other four finalists are Ohio State junior linebacker James Laurinaitis, LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, Virginia defensive end Chris Long and South Florida defensive end George Selvie.

The winner will be announced and presented with the Broko Nagurski Trophy on Dec. 3 at a banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer will give the keynote address.

Talib is also one of the 15 players on the Walter Camp College Player of the Year Watch list. He's also a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's best defensive back.

Talib is tied for fifth in the nation with 16 passes defended, and is tied with safety Justin Thornton for the team lead in interceptions with four. His pick last week of Oklahoma State's Zac Robinson helped seal KU's 43-20 win in Stillwater, Okla., making the Jayhawks 10-0 for the first time since 1899.

No. 3 KU will go for its first ever 11-win season this Saturday on Senior Day, when Iowa State rolls into town for a 2:30 p.m. kickoff at Memorial Stadium. That game will be televised regionally by ABC.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.