Archive for Tuesday, February 6, 2007

Cornish, Ochoa, Talib win team MVP awards

February 6, 2007


Jon Cornish and David Ochoa shared offensive MVP honors, and Aqib Talib was named defensive MVP as Kansas University's annual football awards were passed out Saturday in a private meeting.

Ochoa, a second-team All-Big 12 center, received three awards. Along with sharing the highest honor with Cornish, he also was named offensive lineman of the year and received the Nolan Cromwell Award for leadership.

In all, KU coaches passed out 15 awards to 14 different players. Lawrence product Brandon McAnderson was given the Bruce Kallmeyer Award for special teams MVP and the Gale Sayers Award for most courageous player.

Kansas did not have a public awards banquet as it has in past years.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.