Archive for Saturday, August 19, 2006

Seven more professors get Kemper awards

August 19, 2006


Seven more Kansas University professors received W.T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence on Friday, the second day of the annual event.

Awards went to Matthew Buechner, associate professor of molecular biosciences; Tom Lorenz, professor of English; Michael S. Engel, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; James H. Mielke, professor of anthropology; William D. Picking, associate professor of molecular biosciences; Sara Wilson, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; and Judy Wu, professor of physics.

Twenty faculty members will receive the awards, which will continue to be distributed through Monday.

The awards are supported by $650,000 from the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank and $650,000 in matching funds from KU Endowment Association.

The foundation this summer pledged an additional $150,000 for the awards program, which was matched by KU Endowment. The contributions enable KU to continue the program at its current rate through 2008.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.