Adorable Animal Designs 785-842-7118

2420 Iowa Street, Suite B, Lawrence, KS 66046 Opens Monday at 7:30 a.m.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 9 ratings. 9 user reviews. 9 reviews


  • American Express
  • Visa
  • Check
  • Phone: 785-842-7118

This business appears in:


Rating: 5

Brian Fisher Adorable Animal Designs

I have use Adorable on and off for years. Never ever a problem. Nice quality work, and their pricing is more than fair! I recommend them!

Rating: 5

Topple Adorable Animal Designs

I've been going to Adorable Animal Designs since I moved to Lawrence in 2010. I've taken my dog here at least half a dozen times and my dog has looked great every time.

I asked a few friends who'd lived in Larrytown longer about where to take my dog and the only advice I got was what places NOT to take my dog. Needless to say, AAD is cheaper, and does a better job than the big places around Lawrence.

I plan on going here as long as I live in Lawrence.

Rating: 5

Brogers Adorable Animal Designs

lizzyp13 you might consider that your expectations were unrealistic. I've been taking our dog there for years and have had wonderful service and they always try to accommodate my schedule. The staff always ask what specfic cut we want each time I drop her off, even though it usually doesn't change. If all the other reviews are exceptional, doesn't it make you stop to reflect on the fact that the problem might be on your side, rather than blaming the groomers? BTW, if your took your pet to a vet whose staff laughed and made fun of your dog's appearance....well, I don't think that staff is very professional. And P.S. Vets don't have "nurses" on their staff. They're called Vet Techs.

Rating: 5

cbohnstedt Adorable Animal Designs

Amazing! Customer service is always incredible and they always do their best to get your pet in for a groom. My dog always leaves with an amazing cut, smells good and is very soft. They are also very kind to the pets they work with. My dog is very anxious around people and gets nervous very easily, but he's always excited by the staff and never once have I picked him up scared. I know he gets taken care of always at Adorable Animal Designs!

Rating: 5

Sara Wolfe Adorable Animal Designs

We love taking our Welsh Terrier to Adorable Animal Designs! They always give him the exact cut we are looking for, even if our requests are sometimes confusing. We know our dog is not the easiest to work with, but they know how to take care of him and he always leaves looking great and smelling fresh.

Rating: 5

MorningGlory Adorable Animal Designs

I recommend Adorable Animal Design to all my friends. I trust that my dog is in good hands. After a couple of cuts we now both know what works best for my dog and I appreciate their willingness to work with me and provide the cut I want during different times of the year. I won't take my dog anywhere else.

Rating: 5

Ashley Powell Adorable Animal Designs

I searched all over town for an affordable groomer that did a great job and I found it in Adorable Animal Designs. They always work with me to get my schnauzer in and are always very good at explaining what they need to do to get her clean. When I pick her up, she looks great and smells good. She is not overly nervous or anything when she leaves, which I take as a great sign of the good care that Kari and her staff take with the animals. I have recommended this place to many people and they have also been very pleased with the service. Keep up the good work and I will continue bringing my pet in there as long as I am in the area!

Rating: 1

lizzyp13 Adorable Animal Designs

We were in a pinch and called up Adorable Animal Designs because the summer heat had approached quickly for our dogs and we couldn't get in quick enough to some of the places we've gone in the past. Getting our dogs in was also 'no problem,' but customer service and the finished product not so great, which of course lets us know why getting them in was 'no problem'. One star doesn't even cut it. I recommend spending your money elsewhere, like Pawsh Wash or K-9 Kuts in Baldwin. Our dogs look horrible, granted they were a mess to begin with but they've been much worse and have come out looking actually normal at other local groomers.

Priding themselves on hand scissoring is just wonderful, especially when they didn't even try to keep any of our Shih Tzu's facial hair. It's gone, all of it, despite instructions to leave facial hair as long as they could on all 3 dogs we brought to them.

Note: we did call to discuss our upset and to let them know that we wouldn't be coming back and they were argumentative and said, "that's fine," to end the conversation. We did question them about why they ended up cutting as much hair from the faces as they did, and they just had excuse after excuse. Again, we've gone elsewhere and they've taken the time to work with their faces, and not just cut it off. "Awesome" customer service and good job trying to ease the customer's stress.

Trust us, go elsewhere. We now have 3 dogs that look horrible, don't take your chances.

Emily Campbell replies...

You said it yourself that "granted they were a mess..."--obviously too big of a mess!!‚ÄĚleave facial hair as long as they could"--obviously they couldn't!! Ending a conversation with that's fine after being belittled, only assuming with the tone of your review, sound "fine" to me! They will not lose my business, or their other loyal customers. We will continue to take our three dogs; two cocker spaniels, and a lhasa apso there for as long as we live in Lawrence. Thank you Adorable Animal Design for your continued work ethic and professionalism! Don't let this one bring ya' down!!

Business reply kharris0113 replies...

As you stated upon check in that morning you apologized and said they were all 3 in horrible condition.
Stating you had been highly recommended to come here, we take much pride in our services and care we provide here.
I have several golden doodles who are scissored and labradoodles and shihtzus as well , however we saved the coats and matts we shaved off with a 10 blade off their faces alone.
I cannot perform miracles if you wish to have a nicely scissored dog it needs to be brought in much more than what you have previously taken them to pawsh wash or custom cuts in Baldwin.
I explained to you that the dogs had sores where matts were pulling away from the skin .
I also told you when you said you were sorry for the condition they were in that yes they were super matted and everything would be shaved off and you replied take it all off except the tails .
I do all I can for the best welfare of the animals I groom , with what I have to work with .
We provide affordable prices under all other shops to hopefully provide affordable maintenance for all animals as to not get into that condition.
AS for the customer service , I am sorry you feel we were not serving you satisfactorily.
I have been grooming for 21 years and am also a vet tech , I DO NOT just shave dogs for no reason.

Business reply kharris0113 replies...

what about the stress of a business owner ???? and groomer who does care and takes pride in their work? where is the right in that again I am just so frustrated that you can try and try and communicate with clients and do all you can possibly do and still have reviews like this BLOWS ME AWAY and also the summer heat doesnt creep up on you to have matts like that I just do not understand how some people can honestly write and post these kinds of things .... YLIME thank you again .

lizzyp13 replies...

I stand by my review.

I believe that if the groomer had an issue with how the dogs were then they could have said something and used the moment to teach. You didn't try to communicate with us at all.

There are a number of spots that were missed on each dog. On the Shih Tzu, we took her to the vet a few days later because of the sores...she's developed allergies and was scratching herself too hard. The nurses kept laughing and commenting on how horrible her grooming job was. We take the dogs to the groomer about 3 times a year, which is not as much as we wish we could, but the point is, no one else has ever cut them this short and goofy looking before.

I'm glad others are happy, but the point of this marketplace review section is to allow both sides. Compared to others this business did an incredibly subpar job.

Topple replies...

I once let my dog's hair get too long and it became matted pretty badly. The groomer I used in Kansas City warned me that they'd likely have to shave him because getting the mats out would be very difficult and painful.

I understood that it was MY fault that my dog required the shaving, not the groomer.

Rating: 5

Emily Campbell Adorable Animal Designs

We love Adorable Animal Designs! They are always very good to our three dogs, and flexible with time. I called in the day I was needing them groomed (my day off was switched) and they were able to get them in--"no problem". Awesome customer service, and our dogs look amazing when they're done! Unique cutting technique with the hand scissoring, especially since one of our dogs is not very comfortable around a shaver. There are not enough kind words to give this business. We will not take our dogs anywhere else, and we did before we found Adorable! Thank you!!!!

Business reply kharris0113 replies...

Thank you so much , our goals are to be the kindest and treat our animal clients and human as we wish to be treated