District surprises Schwegler Elementary school psychologist with Horizon Award

photo by: Dylan Lysen

Lawrence Superintendent Anthony Lewis, left, announces Cheyenne Hansen-Marlow, right, Schwegler Elementary psychologist, as the Lawrence Horizon Award winner for the elementary level on Thursday, Sept. 20, 2018, at the school.

Cheyenne Hansen-Marlow did not know what to say Thursday morning.

Superintendent Anthony Lewis and other Lawrence school district administrators surprised the school psychologist for Schwegler Elementary by showing up during the school day to announce that she had been chosen as the elementary-level Horizon Award winner.

“I didn’t expect this at all,” she said.

The school district annually presents Horizon Awards to one elementary school teacher and one secondary teacher after their first year on the job. The district on Monday awarded Free State High School math teacher Alyssa Barratt with the secondary-level award.

“You’ve earned the respect of your colleagues, which is hard to do as a first-year teacher,” Lewis said. “I want to thank you for making a positive difference.”

Schwegler Principal Jared Comfort said Hansen-Marlow has had a positive effect on the school community.

“As a first-year staff member, she showed poise, determination and sound judgment that one would normally expect from a seasoned veteran,” Comfort said. “In a short amount of time, Mrs. Hansen-Marlow has become a valued and valuable support staff member, respected by veteran staff members who already see her as a reliable go-to person for helping them support student needs.”

Hansen-Marlow thanked her colleagues for helping her get through her first school year last year.

“I have an amazing team and they helped me through what was a very difficult year,” she said. “Thank you for all of this.”

This year’s award comes with a $250 check from Truity Credit Union. Barratt and Hansen-Marlow will be considered for Kansas Horizon Award regional honors, which the Kansas Department of Education will announce in February. The regions correspond with the state’s four congressional districts.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.