Archive for Monday, July 12, 2010

High school graduates from Lawrence area named as 2010 National Merit Scholars

July 12, 2010


Nine graduates of Lawrence public schools have been named 2010 National Merit Scholars and will receive scholarships.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. on Monday announced the final group of scholarship winners, who will receive $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution they attend.

About 1,900 college-sponsored award recipients were announced Monday, and 2,800 were announced in May. Also in April and May, the corporation announced 3,500 students nationally won National Merit $2,500 Scholarships or corporate-sponsored scholarships.

Here are winners from Lawrence public schools:

College-sponsored scholarships

• Anton Bovin, Free State High School graduate, received the National Merit University of Chicago Scholarship, where he plans to study electrical engineering.

• Matthew Drahozal, Lawrence High School, earned a scholarship from Northwestern University, where he plans to study theater.

• Lea Greenberg, of Free State, received a Grinnell College scholarship and plans to study political science at the Iowa college.

• Patrick Magnuson, LHS, and Samuel Walter, Free State, both were awarded a National Merit W. Harold Otto Scholarship from Kansas University. Magnuson plans to study chemical engineering. Walter is undecided on his major.

• Benjamin Rosenbloom, Free State, earned a scholarship from Bowdoin College in Maine, and plans to study elementary education.

• Addison Frei, LHS, received a University of North Texas scholarship and plans to study music.

• Lauren Potts, Free State, earned a scholarship from the University of South Florida. Business is her probable career field.

National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

• Dravid Joseph, Free State, won the award sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s own funds. He plans to study surgical medicine at Dartmouth College.

• Brian Henry, of Oskaloosa High School, earned a National Merit Scholarship from Kansas State University, where he plans to study information technology.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.