Archive for Wednesday, January 24, 2007

School board races attract candidates

January 24, 2007


A primary will be needed to narrow the race for one of the positions on the Perry-Lecompton school board.

Three candidates filed for position No. 1, held by Scott McPherson, who is not running for re-election. The candidates are Matt Erickson, Grantville; Lori Coyle, Perry; and Bob Treanor, Lecompton.

The primary election will be Feb. 27.

Jamie Harwood, Perry, was the only candidate to file for the board's No. 3 position. Incumbent Tom Holroyd is not running again.

Travis O. Daniels, an incumbent, was the only one to file for the No. 7 position.

There were no filings for the No. 2 position being vacated by incumbent Greg Howard. Jefferson County Clerk Linda Buttron said that position could be determined by write-in votes. If that doesn't produce a winner, the school board will have to select someone, she said.

No primaries are necessary for school board elections in the McLouth and Oskaloosa school districts.

In McLouth, two candidates have filed for the No. 1 position: incumbent Julie Zule and challenger Michael G. Tullis. Two candidates also filed for the No. 7 position: incumbent James DePriest and Edward S. Courtney.

The other candidates, unopposed incumbents, are Andy Sullivan, No. 2 position; and Dan Evans, No. 3 position.

All candidates running for seats on the Oskaloosa school board are unopposed. The incumbent candidates are Daryl R. Chess, No. 3 position; Jon Henry, No. 5 position; and Gary Willits, No. 7 position.

For the No. 1 position, Denise Selbee-Koch is running for the seat being vacated by incumbent Ronda Schuler. Tammy Fowler is running for the seat currently held by Frances Snell, who is not seeking re-election.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.