Archive for Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Area primaries pare slates of candidates

February 28, 2007


Incumbents did well in the Baldwin City primary election Tuesday, with officeholders Tony Brown and Ted Brecheisen Jr. leading all candidates in the race for three Baldwin City Council seats.

Of the seven candidates in the race, Brown, Brecheisen, Kenneth Wagner, incumbent Nancy Brown, Kenneth Niehoff and Jennifer L. Hayes all survived to the April 3 general election.

Jason Mock, a Baker University student who unsuccessfully ran for the City Council two years ago, was the lone candidate to be left behind in Tuesday's race.

Other results from area races:

¢ Baldwin City school board, one seat: Joshua Mihesuah and Teresa Arnold advance, defeating Doug Mead and David Wagner. Wagner had dropped out of the race but remained on the ballot.

¢ Tonganoxie school board, two seats: In the first race, Craig Lohman and Kathy Baragary easily eclipsed Rex Hutton to remain in the race. In the second race, Mildred McMillon and Bill Weatherford will advance after moving in front of Francis Campbell.

¢ McLouth City Council, three seats: Six candidates advanced, led by incumbent Sharon Lobb Johnson. Others advancing are George L. Bowen, Charles Karmann, Gerald Sullivan, Myra Harwood and incumbent Bob Ryan. Curtis Woodhead, Keith Meador and Tom Burns were defeated.

¢ Basehor-Linwood school board, one seat: Eric Dove and Kerry Mueller remain in the race, finishing ahead of Angie Erickson.

¢ Perry-Lecompton school board, one seat: Matt Erickson and Bob Treanor defeated Lori Coyle to get on the April ballot. Coyle had no votes in Douglas County, and was a distant third place in Jefferson County as well.

¢ De Soto school district, one seat: The April election will be between Jim Thomas and Bob Dyche, who both defeated Donald Gentry.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.