Archive for Monday, November 6, 2006

Lawrence residents complete program

November 6, 2006


Leadership Kansas, the flagship leadership growth program of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce, celebrated the graduation Oct. 27 of 40 emerging state leaders from its 2006 class, including five Lawrence residents:

¢ Karen Cochran, a teacher and instructional coach for Lawrence public schools.

¢ Scott Heidner, an associate with Gaches, Braden, Barbee & Associates. Heidner received the Class Distinguished Leadership Award, one of two special awards presented during the ceremony.

¢ Cynthia Hornberger, dean of the School of Nursing at Washburn University.

¢ Dan Sabatini, principal and president of Sabatini Architects Inc.

¢ Brett Sayre, director of external affairs for AT&T; in Lawrence.

Class members participated in several statewide conferences led by experts in issues facing Kansas businesses and government.

Class members are chosen based on leadership contributions in their professions and communities and their willingness to contribute to Kansas' future progress.

Leadership Kansas has more than 1,000 graduates, including state and locally elected officials, former governors, congressmen, CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, educators, military leaders and small business owners. Leadership Kansas just completed its 28th year inspiring and motivating leaders.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.