More Kemper Awards handed out at KU

Six Kansas University professors on Friday received $5,000 Kemper Awards for excellent teaching.

KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway and Mark Heider, president of Commerce Bank, led a “surprise patrol” to distribute the awards.

Friday’s winners were Nancy Baym, associate professor of communication studies; Dave Besson, physics professor; Ted Juhl, economics professor; Lorin Maletsky, assistant professor of mechanical engineering; Bangere Purnaprajna, associate professor of mathematics; and James Sherman, professor of applied behavioral science.

The prize patrol began Thursday and will continue giving awards through Aug. 29. Twenty faculty members will receive the award this year.

The awards were established with $500,000 from the William T. Kemper Foundation-Commerce Bank, Trustee, and $500,000 in matching funds from the KU Endowment Association.