Rating: 5

lve2swim3 Justin T Moravec, American Family Insurance

Justin and his team provide great service and will make obtaining any of your insurance needs easy and convenient!

Rating: 1

lve2swim3 Cafe Beautiful

My boyfriend had been wanting to eat here for over TWO years. It apparently has more recently (past year or two?) been taken over by a young woman chef. She clearly doesn't know how to provide customer service.

We came to the restaurant with high hopes and great expectations and my boyfriend was VERY excited to be eating at this restaurant that has received nothing but rave reviews.

Needless to say we were disappointed.

My boyfriend exchanged messages (emails) with the chef prior to coming, alerting her that I was a little more picky than most, she advised IN WRITING that she would be able to accommodate and that it was "no problem at all."

Guess what? She KICKED US OUT of the restaurant after serving three of the nine dishes as I did not eat COLD duck. I apologize as I am a picky eater, but when a chef is made aware of this, advises it wont be a problem, and then even acknowledges she knows that it is us when we sit down to dinner, you would expect her to not serve cold duck.

She advised us "I do not want to continue" while making odd and uncomfortable gestures with her hands as if there was something wrong with her. She also mentioned "this is awkward for me, I don't know how to handle this situation." CLEARLY she didn't. How appalling!

Lets just say...there is a reason that COOKS don't serve.

We will never be going back and have advised may of this experience. I honestly have never been so upset and embarrassed in my whole life. Not to mention my boyfriends frustrations with not being able to eat there because, shame on him, his gf is picky. Too bad we advised her of this before hand and were made to feel welcome and as if this would not be an issue. HUGE disappointment and skip it because if you 'offend' the rude chef, you're out.

lastofhistribe replies...

There are a lot of entertaining reviews at this site, but this one's become my recent favorite. Cold duck: it'll get you in trouble every time. (hint to the cook: just take that duck, shove it in the microwave, and bring it back out. high-maintenance customer made happy!)

Christine Davisson replies...

I realize this is an old review but this is irritating. If you are a self-proclaimed picky eater why on Earth would you go to a such a unique restaurant? You sound like an imbecile. Clearly you have no place in such an amazing restaurant with such a fantastic, personable Chef. You should probably head to Applebee's next time.

Rating: 1

lve2swim3 Sizzors Inc. Spa

It is sad that I have to put 1 star for this Salon. I wish I could have put 0. I have had nothing but negative experiences with this Salon and their staff with the exception of 1 visit several months ago, so I guess that can be their one star. I am livid after receiving a rather rude email from whomever runs their email list. It can be read as follows: "You have to unsubscribe they are automatic. You don't have to be rude that may have been your problem.

Sent from my iPhone


Not only did this rude email get sent to me after my asking them to take me off their email list due to the fact that I wont be visiting their establishment again, their website is unreliable and lists services for which they do not follow through with offering, even after making a KIND complaint/inquiry about why I did not receive a service listed under their "facial" section of their website, and paying 85$ for it!? The lady I spoke to on the phone then, Kirby, was rude and said that their website was incorrect and basically told me "tough luck." Then a few weeks later I receive a postcard in the mail stating that I could come in for a "free 60 minute facial" with some sort of extra "scrub" tacked on to it, FOR FREE. However when I made the appointment I was told this was a 'mistake' and that it was not for a free facial, just the extra 'scrub.' SERIOUSLY!?!? I am nothing short of looking into reporting this business for unfair practices as well as rude, incompetent service. It is infuriating that these women would treat a paying customer in such a way.

Please do yourself a favor and go to Z's hair academy, or Beauty Brands where you will receive honest, good quality service for a cheaper price.

Sizzorsinc replies...

Hi Megan,

When we talked before, we apologized for the misunderstanding. Our Cosmetologists and Estheticians go though our files and send out many coupons when we have not seen a client in awhile.

At the time, our stylist offered a FREE body scrub with a purchase of a facial. As we told you we are sorry for the inconvenience of the situation. We DO admit we made a mistake, but also feel that when writing hundreds of handwritten cards to clients, a mistake or two happens. It is unfortunate you were on the receiving end of the mistake, but when you booked the appointment you were informed immediately of the error. I feel as though your frustration is being blown slightly out of proportion for the mistake. We are always willing to work with our clients if they feel their service was unsatisfactory. We feel that offering a FREE service with a purchase of a service is not a "unfair practice".

We appreciate your feedback. We would love the opportunity to change your mind and have you back into the salon for services.

Rating: 5

lve2swim3 Mirth Café

Absolutely my favorite breakfast spot in Lawrence, lovely service, friendly atmosphere. If eating at The Mirth try to salsa, it is by far the best I have ever tasted! I wish I could steal the recipe! Everything from the choice of paintings hung on the wall to the tasty food, I would give this restaurant ten stars if possible!

Rating: 5

lve2swim3 Dynamite Saloon

Best Margaritas in town!!!!!!!