Veterans of Foreign Wars, Post 852 785-843-2078

Visit website 1801 Massachusetts St., Lawrence, KS 66044 Opens Monday at 4 p.m.

Community Services / Scout of the Year


Share across social networks

Scout of the Year


Scout & Venturing applicants should submit the completed VFW Scouting Scholarship form:

PLUS resume of high school activities, scouting record, community service record and letters of recommendation to a local VFW Post NO LATER THAN March 1, 2014

Note: A Scout can enter through ONE VFW Post only. Source-URL:

Some of the VFW’s earliest ties to the community involve youth groups. Few are stronger — and none more lasting — than the close relationship between the VFW and Boy Scouts of America, dating back to 1915.

With this program, please remember this award is not only for those involved in Boy Scouts. The VFW recognizes any entry from the following organization:

The Department of Kansas will recognize two awardees of the following: BSA Eagle Scout rank; Girl Scouts USA Gold rank; Venture Silver rank; or Sea Scout Quartermasters rank who have risen above his or her peers in exemplifying the exceptional qualities of that award.

Each year, the VFW selects three young people — of the Boy or Girl Scouts, Sea Scouts or Venturing Crew — who have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community. The first-place winner receives a $5,000 award, the second-place winner receives a $3,000 award and the third-place winner receives $1,000.

For more detail on this competition, please contact our Post Coordinator: Bob-RJ Burkhart 913-669-3088

More on Scout of the Year.