Kansas standouts Azubuike, Dotson named 2nd team AP All-Americans

photo by: Associated Press

Kansas center Udoka Azubuike, left, and guard Devon Dotson share the Maui Invitational co-MVP trophy, Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2019, in Lahaina, Hawaii. Kansas defeated Dayton in 90-84 in overtime in an NCAA college basketball game for the tournament title. (AP Photo/Marco Garcia)

After teaming up to guide the Kansas basketball team to a 28-3 record and the likely No. 1 overall seed in the canceled NCAA Tournament, Udoka Azubuike and Devon Dotson on Friday earned second-team Associated Press All-American honors.

The Associated Press All-America Team was selected and voted on by a media panel of 65.

According to the AP’s report, Dotson and Azubuike both received more than 20 first-team votes, but fell to the second team after essentially taking votes away from each other by playing for the same team.

The 2020 first team included: Dayton’s Obi Toppin, Iowa’s Luka Garza, Marquette’s Markus Howard, Seton Hall’s Myles Powell and Oregon’s Payton Pritchard.

Azubuike and Dotson’s inclusion on the 2020 teams gives KU at least one AP All-American in each of the past five seasons.

Dedric Lawson was a third team selection in 2019. Devonte’ Graham was a first-team choice in 2018. Frank Mason III (first) and Josh Jackson (third) were both recognized in 2017. And Perry Ellis was a second-team selection in 2016.

KU coach Bill Self now has coached 18 Jayhawks to the Associated Press All-America teams in his 17 seasons at KU. And he clearly believed his top two weapons this season, along with junior guard Marcus Garrett, were among the most talented players in college basketball.

“We probably had as good a lead guard as there is in the country,” Self said of Dotson while reflecting on the season on The Doug Gottlieb Show on Thursday. “I mean, you could argue that, but probably as good. We probably had as good a perimeter defender (Garrett) as there was in America — maybe the best. And we did have the best big man defender and presence that anybody had in America.”

A senior from Delta, Nigeria, Azubuike led Division I in field goal percentage at 74.8%, which helped his career percentage of 74.6% break the all-time Division I field goal percentage record of UCF’s Tacko Fall (74%).

Azubuike led the Big 12 in rebounding (10.5 rpg) and double-doubles (15) and was second in the conference in blocked shots at 2.6 per game. A unanimous All-Big 12 first-team selection who was named Big 12 Player of the Year by both the AP and the Big 12 coaches, Azubuike was the only player in the conference to average a double-double (13.7 ppg, 10.5 rpg).

Dotson led the Big 12 in scoring at 18.1 ppg, steals (2.1) and free throws made (142).

The sophomore guard from Charlotte, N.C., ranked among the Big 12 leaders in 20-point games (second at 9), field goal percentage (second at 46.8), free throw percentage (fifth at 83.0), assists (fifth at 4.0) and assist-to-turnover ratio (fifth at 1.7).

Dotson became just the fifth Jayhawk to lead the Big 12 in scoring, joining Drew Gooden in 2002, Wayne Simien in 2005, Mason in 2017 and Lawson in 2019.

This season, Dotson was an All-Big 12 first-team unanimous selection, a Bob Cousy Award Point Guard of the Year Award Finalist, and named to the USBWA All-District VI team. He has amassed 986 career points in only two seasons at Kansas.

AP All-America Selections under Bill Self (since 2003-04)

Season – Name (AP team)

2020 – Udoka Azubuike (2nd); Devon Dotson (2nd)

2019 – Dedric Lawson (3rd)

2018 – Devonte’ Graham (1st)

2017 – Frank Mason III (1st; AP Player of the Year); Josh Jackson (3rd)

2016 – Perry Ellis (2nd)

2014 – Andrew Wiggins (2nd)

2013 – Ben McLemore (2nd); Jeff Withey (3rd)

2012 – Thomas Robinson (1st); Tyshawn Taylor (3rd)

2011 – Marcus Morris (2nd)

2010 – Sherron Collins (2nd); Cole Aldrich (3rd)

2009 – Sherron Collins (3rd)

2005 – Wayne Simien (1st)

2004 – Wayne Simien (3rd)


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.