17 Kansas baseball players earn academic all-Big 12 honors

Seventeen members of the Kansas baseball team earned Academic all-Big 12 honors this season, the Big 12 Conference announced Wednesday.

That number marks a program best, surpassing the previous high of 15 academic honorees from a season ago.

Thirteen of the 17 Jayhawks named to the team earned first-team honors, which requires a grade-point average of 3.2 or higher. The other four earned second-team honors with a GPA between 3.0 and 3.19.

In all, 125 student-athletes from across the conference were named to the two 2020 Academic all-Big 12 baseball teams.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Here’s the list of Jayhawks who were honored this season, along with their majors.

First team: Brooks Asher (business administration), Nathan Barry (liberal arts & sciences), Casey Burnham (business finance), Ryan Cy (master of business administration), Hunter Freese (business administration), Blake Goldsberry (sports management), Daniel Hegarty (sports management), Marc Mendel (business finance), Skyler Messinger (sports management), Nolan Metcalf (sports management), Benjamin Sems (master of architecture), Gabriel Sotomayor (business finance) and Jonah Ulane (business finance).

Second team: Kahi Bisho (communication studies), Tom Lichty (communication studies), Kaimana Souza-Paaluhi (sports management) and Brett Vosik (business finance).


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.