KU rowing sets program record with 11 National Scholar-Athlete honorees

A program record 11 rowers from the University of Kansas recently earned National Scholar-Athlete recognition from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.

This marks the third year in a row that the KU rowing program set a new record for NSA honors, topping the 2019 total of 10, which also topped the previous record of nine in 2018. KU rowing also had nine NSA honorees in 2008.

Reese Arnold, Abigail Benedict, Shannon Cody, Katie Donnellan, Isabelle Finzen, Jaryn Folk, Julia Isbell, Jadyn Jay, Jenna Lenherr, Danica Pecana and Riley Varuska were KU’s 2020 honorees.

“These Kansas athletes have achieved high-level success in both the classroom and on the water,” KU coach Carrie Cook-Callen said in a news release.

This season’s CRCA Scholar-Athlete Award requirements were adjusted because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In order to qualify for NSA recognition, student-athletes had to be in at least their second year of eligibility, had to maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.50 and had to be ranked in the top half of their team in terms of performance.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.