FSHS softball sweeps top Sunflower League honors

photo by: Carter Gaskins/Journal-World Photo

Free State Georgia Rea (5) jumps on home base after hitting a home run against Campus High School on May 16, 2019, at Free State High School.

After winning another state title, Free State’s softball team swept the top Sunflower League awards.

Sophomore pitcher Tatum Clopton was named the Player of the Year for her prolific presence in the circle this season. She tossed five shutouts in as many games during the postseason, including all three outings of the Class 6A state tournament.

Free State’s Lee Ice was named the Coach of the Year after guiding his squad to a second consecutive state title. The Firebirds went 23-2 this season, which included 14 wins in a row to close out the 2019 campaign. FSHS freshman Macy Miles was named the Sunflower League Newcomer of the Year.

Sophomore Georgia Rea (infielder) and Clopton (pitcher) were the only first-team selections for Free State. Freshman Kay Lee Richardson (designated player), freshman Jasmine Brixius (outfielder) and sophomore Sara Roszak (infielder) were named to the second team. Seniors Lauryn Jones and Emma Stanwix received honorable mentions.

Lawrence High senior Angelina Harjo was named to the second team as an outfielder. Senior Abby Monroe (infielder) and freshman Chayse Burghart (catcher) were also selected to the second team for the Lions. Junior Karly Johnson, senior Sammy Williams and junior Kate Williams were all recognized on the honorable mention team.

2019 All-Sunflower League softball

Player of the Year: Tatum Clopton, FS

Coach of the Year: Lee Ice, FS

Newcomer of the Year: Macy Miles, FS

First team

Pitchers: Tatum Clopton, FS; Bailey Ballard, OS; Jayme Dean, ON.

Infielders: Ashlyn Anderson, Gardner-Edgerton; NaLeah Garry, Olathe West; Loren Beggs, ONW; Abby Ward, OS; Georgia Rea, FS.

Outfielders: Elizabeth Vaupel, OE; Karisa Boeschen, ONW; Kailani Donham, Gardner Edgerton; Morgan Kern, OS; Kayce Hayes, OW.

Catchers: Jordan Richards, ONW; Lindy Milkowski, Olathe West.

Designated player: Anabelle Daugherty, OS.

Utility: Ryan Milkowski, OW.

Second team

Pitchers: Emily Bowman, ONW; Jennaka Bultman, SM Northwest; Megan Formwalt, SM Northwest.

Infielders: Maya Gallagher, Olathe North; Katie Enneking, Olathe East; Sara Rozak, FS; Mackenzie Klaus, ONW; Abby Monroe, LHS.

Outfielders: Angelina Harjo, LHS; Lexie Schroeder, ON; Jasmine Brixius, FS; Leksi Macan, SM North.

Designated player: Kay Lee Richardson

Utility: Katie Heckman, SME.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.