Local track standouts earn all-league honors

Plenty of local track standouts were recognized with postseason honors. Both Free State and Lawrence High were represented on the All-Sunflower League teams, which combines the results from all three postseason meets.

Lawrence High’s girls track team, which won the Class 6A state title for the second year in a row, had eight first-team selections. All three of Lawrenece’s relays were named to the first team. The 4×100-meter relay team — Ashley Wildeman, Amaya Harris, Bella Kirkwood and Asjah Harris — was the only event Lawrence won at all three postseason meets.

Amaya Harris (javelin), Josie Hickerson (pole vault), Asjah Harris (200) and Hannah Stewart (800, 1600) were all named to the first team in individual events. Asjah Harris (100) and Evann Seratte (400) were listed on the second team. For Free State, Haley Hippe netted a first-team selection in the discus competition.

On the boys side, Graham Hough of Lawrence earned a first-team selection for his performance in the 100-meter run. Free State’s Malachi Starr was named to the first team in the 400-meter run. Free State’s 4×100-meter relay was also listed on the second team.

All-Sunflower league boys track selections

(First, second and honorable mention)

Shot put — 1st Andrew Dumas, Olathe Northwest; 2nd Nate Matlack, Olathe East; HM Bryce Tibke, LHS; HM Connor Boyd, Olathe Northwest.

Discus — 1st Connor Boyd, Olathe Northwest; 2nd Damien Tolbert, Olathe South; HM Rylan Miller, SM North; HM CJ Callaghan, SM West.

Javelin — 1st Joe Placek, Olathe West; 2nd Jacob Serrioz, GE; HM Caleb Nelson, Olathe North; HM Nick Allen, Gardner-Edgerton.

Pole vault — 1st Colton Goodman, Gardner-Edgerton; 2nd Matthew Murphy, SM North; HM Gray Warner, SM East; HM Dominic Gattoma, SM North; HM Wen Clough, SM East.

Triple jump — 1st Chanler Taylor, SM Northwest; 2nd Teven McKelvey, Gardner-Edgerton; HM James Thomas, Olathe North; HM Tristan Madden, Olathe North.

High jump — 1st Dayton Williams, Gardner-Edgerton; 2nd Myles Nash, Olathe South; HM Hezekiah Newman, Olathe East; HM AJ Shields, Olathe South.

100 — 1st Graham Hough, LHS; 2nd Jaden Reed, SM North; HM Dre Bridges, LHS; HM Tyler Bowden, FS.

200 — 1st Sae Vheon Alcorn, GE; 2nd Jaden Reed, SM North; HM Giovani Reinerio, Olathe West; Graham Hough, LHS.

400 — 1st Malachi Starr, FS; 2nd Kaneron Byers, Olathe East; HM Kane Tadesse, Olathe West; HM Jack Slaughter, SM East.

800 — 1st Jacob Vermillions, Olathe East; 2nd Mitch Lumley, Gardner-Edgerton; HM Riley Vandaveer, Olathe South; HM Bred Beard, Olathe Northwest.

1600 — 1st Cade Heikes, Olathe North; 2nd Asher Molina, SM North; HM Justyn France, Olathe South; Hm Trent Cochran, Gardner-Edgerton.

3200 — 1st Griffen Keeter, SM East; Trent Cochran, Gardner-Edgerton; HM Jackson Caldwell, Olathe North; HM Asher Molina, SM North.

High hurdles — 1st Hezekia Newman, Olathe East; 2nd Cameron Shelton, SM West; HM Kaleb Young, SM North; HM Eli Hodson, SM Northwest; HM AJ Shields, Olathe South.

Intermediate hurdles — 1st Cameron Shelton, SM West; 2nd Kevon Penerman, Olathe East; HM Teven McKelvey, GE; HM Zac Krause, Olathe West; AJ Shields, Olathe South.

4×100-meter relay — 1st Gardner-Edgerton; 2nd Free State; HM Olathe East; HM Olathe West.

4×400-meter relay — 1st Olathe East; 2nd Olathe Northwest; HM Gardner-Edgerton; HM SM East.

4×800-meter relay — 1st Olathe Northwest; 2nd SM East; HM Olathe East; HM Gardner-Edgerton.

All-Sunflower league girls track selections

(First, second and honorable mention)

Shot put — 1st Kendra Wait, GE; 2nd Kirsten Womack, SM North; HM Chisom Ajekwu, LHS; Angelina Butler, Olathe South.

Discus — 1st Haley Hippe, FS; 2nd Kristen Womack, Leavenworth; HM Angelina Butler, Olathe South; Sophie Skoczek, Olathe NW.

Javelin — 1st Amaya Harris, LHS; Danielle Scaduto, SM North; HM Kennedy Cornstock, GE; HM Sarah Bingham, SM East.

Pole vault — 1st Josie Hickerson, LHS; 2nd Kendra Wait, GE; HM Morgan McIntire, GE; Jill Klusman, Olathe North.

Long jump — 1st Jaleesa McWashington, Olathe NW; 2nd Maddie Righter, Olathe NW; HM Bella Kirkwood, LHS; HM Auna Childress, FS;

Triple jump — 1st Jaleesa McWashington, Olathe Northwest; 2nd Olivia Pixton, SM Northwest; HM Auna Childress, FS; HM Josie Hickerson, LHS; HM Lindsey Heiler, Olathe NW.

High jump — 1st Maddi Righter, Olathe Northwest; 2nd Carly Hendrickson, SM East; HM Dani Winslow, Olathe South; HM Laila Robinson, FS.

100 — 1st Kendra Wait, GE; 2nd Asjah Harris, LHS; 2nd Destiny Ray, SM East; HM Kierra Prim, SM West.

200 — 1st Asjah Harris, LHS; 2nd Kendra Wait, GE; HM Kierra Prim, SM West; HM Destiny Ray, SM East.

400 –1st Kylie Moorehouse, GE; 2nd Evann Seratte, LHS; HM Kennedi Cline, Olathe West; HM Jasmine Patterson, SM West.

800 — 1st Hannah Stewart, LHS; 2nd Eleanor Hlobik, SM East; HM Evann Seratte, LHS; HM Zoey Schillinger, Olathe North.

1600 — 1st Hannah Stewart, LHS; 2nd Kathryn Kasunic, SM North; HM Lydia McGlockin, Olathe Northwest; HM Lexie Dockstader, Olathe North.

3200 — 1st Kathryn Kasunic, SM North; 2nd Riley Demo, SM Northwest; HM Melody Ochana, Olathe East; HM Julia Larkin, FS; HM Lexie Dockstader, Olathe North.

High hurdles — 1st Maddie Righter, Olathe Northwest; 2nd Kaiya McKie, Olathe North; HM Sariah Hull, GE; HM Brea Turner, Olathe North; HM CC Carter, SM West.

Intermediate hurdles — 1st Jaleesa McWashington, Olathe South; 2nd Dani Winslow, Olathe South; HM Kelsey Christensen, SM East; HM CC Carter, SM West.

4×100 — 1st Lawrence; 2nd Olathe North; HM Olathe West; HM SM West.

4×400 — 1st Lawrence; 1st SM West; HM Gardner-Edgerton; HM Olathe West.

4×800 — 1st Lawrence; 2nd Olathe North; HM SM North; HM SM West.


Welcome to the new LJWorld.com. Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.