Self named Naismith Coach of the Year finalist

Kansas head coach Bill Self smiles as he barbs an official during the second half, Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2016 at Allen Fieldhouse.

? Kansas coach Bill Self on Thursday was named a finalist for the annual Werner Ladder Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year award.

Self, who won the award in 2012, has been a finalist seven times (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2009, 2012 and 2017). Joining him on this year’s list are: Chris Collins (Northwestern), Mark Few (Gonzaga) and Jay Wright (Villanova).

Larry Brown (1988) and Roy Williams (1997) also won the award while coaching at Kansas.

Here’s a quick look at some of the things Self and Kansas accomplished during the 2016-17 season, which continues Friday in Tulsa, Okla., where the No. 1 seed Jayhawks (28-4) will take on No. 16 seed UC Davis at 5:50 p.m. on TNT.

• Kansas has been ranked in the Top 5 in all but one week by The Associated Press and all but two weeks in the USA Today Coaches’ polls. The Jayhawks have been No. 3 or higher in every poll since Dec. 5.

• Kansas is 5-0 against teams ranked in the top-10 this season, including a 4-0 record against top-five opponents.

• In his first home contest of the season, a KU 86-65 win against Siena (Nov. 18), Self became the winningest coach in Allen Fieldhouse history. At 220-10, Self has more conference titles (13) than home losses in Allen Fieldhouse.

• From Nov. 15-Jan. 21, Kansas won 18 consecutive games, which was the second longest winning streak in Self’s 14 seasons and marked the 15th time in the Self era the Jayhawks have won 10 consecutive games.

• Kansas won the CBE Hall of Fame Classic (Nov. 21-22), which was the sixth in-season tournament title in Self’s 14 seasons at KU, including each of the last three years.

• Self became the ninth-fastest coach in NCAA history to record 600 career wins with a 105-62 win against UMKC (Dec. 6). Self is currently 620-192 (76.4 percent).

• Self won his 400th game while at Kansas with an 81-70 win at Oklahoma (Jan. 10). He became the fastest KU coach to accomplish the 400-win plateau. Self’s 82.6 (413-87) winning percentage at Kansas is the highest among KU’s eight coaches.

• Self was named a finalist for induction to the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame.

• Self guided Kansas to its NCAA-record-tying 13th-consecutive Big 12 regular-season title in 2016-17. The Jayhawks tied UCLA’s 13-straight from 1967-79. UCLA accomplished the feat under three coaches, while Kansas’ current run has been under Self.

• At 28-4, Kansas has won at least 27 games 10 times in the Bill Self era.

Four Jayhawks were named to the 2017 Academic All-Big 12 team giving Self a conference-high 35 honorees during his time a Kansas.

Voting will run through the end of the month and the award will be given out at the Naismith Awards annual Final Four Awards Brunch on Sunday, April 2 in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Fans, whose opinion will count for 5 percent of the final say, can cast their ballot from 9 a.m. March 20 through 10:59 p.m. March 31.