City cleans up in Sunflower League awards

Lawrence High senior guard Anthony Bonner and Free State sophomore Madison Piper were named the Sunflower League’s players of the year on Sunday, and LHS boys basketball coach Mike Lewis was selected as the Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to an undefeated 11-0 record in league play.

Bonner led the Lions to the Class 6A state championship game, averaging 19 points per game.

Piper ranked second in the league, averaging 18 points per game, and she also added seven rebounds each contest.

LHS junior point guard Justin Roberts joined Bonner on the boys all-league first team, while Free State senior Weston Hack was picked for the second team.

Lawrence senior John Barbee and junior Price Morgan, along with Free State junior Hunter Gudde, earned an honorable mention.

Free State senior Sarah Coversup and Lawrence High senior Marissa Pope were chosen for the girls all-league second team, while FSHS senior Adriana Jadlow, along with LHS senior Matia Finley and freshman E’lease Stafford, were recognized with an honorable mention.

2014-15 All-Sunflower League


First team: Javion Blake, Sr., Olathe East; Anthony Bonner, Sr., Lawrence; Lucas Jones, Sr., Shawnee Mission East; Justin Roberts, Jr., Lawrence; Michael Weathers, Jr., Shawnee Mission North.

Second team: Weston Hack, Sr., Free State; Louis Rollins, Sr., Shawnee Mission West; RJ Smith, Jr., Olathe North; Josiah Talbert, Jr., Olathe East; Marcus Weathers, Jr., Shawnee Mission North.

Third team: Devin Anctil, Sr., Olathe Northwest; Dylan Dirks, Jr., Shawnee Mission Northwest; Taylor Filbert, Sr., Olathe South; Brian Harness, Sr., Shawnee Mission South; CJ Hill, Jr., Shawnee Mission South; Cedric Roland, Jr., Olathe East; Alonzo Williams, Jr., Olathe North.

Honorable Mention: Free State: Hunter Gudde; Lawrence: John Barbee, Price Morgan; Leavenworth: Jerry Hanks, Jeromie Simmons; Olathe North: Josh Moore; Olathe South: Zack Fields, Tyler Zinn; Olathe East: Dion Union; Olathe Northwest: Jaymond Kelly; SM North: Torrence Allen; SM East: Gunnar Englund, Jay Guastello; SM Northwest: Mark Kimotho, Austin Sanders; SM South: Anei Anei; SM West: Tyriq Gunnels.

Freshman of the Year: Luke Waters, Olathe Northwest.

Sophomore of the Year: Kenny Byers, Olathe North.

Player of the Year: Anthony Bonner, Lawrence.

Coach of the Year: Mike Lewis, Lawrence.


First team: Rachel Blackburn, Sr., Leavenworth; Shaliea Jamison, Sr., Olathe Northwest; Tyler Johnson, Sr., Leavenworth; Latashia Jones, Sr., Leavenworth; Morgan Mauck, Sr., Shawnee Mission West; Terrion Moore, So., Leavenworth; Jordan Morton, Sr., Olathe South; Madison Piper, So., Free State; DejaNae Roebuck, So., Olathe South; Brenni Rose, Jr., Shawnee Mission Northwest.

Second team: Brooklyn Anderson, So., Olathe North; Sarah Coversup, Sr., Free State; Tatum Graves, Sr., Shawnee Mission Northwest; Kala Holder, Jr., Olathe South; Arielle Jackson, Sr., Shawnee Mission Northwest; Kacey Kennett, Jr., Olathe South; Lauren Kirk, So., Olathe East; Kenzie Loe, So., Shawnee Mission West; Marissa Pope, Sr., Lawrence; Brooklyn Wagler, Sr., Shawnee Mission Northwest.

Honorable Mention: Free State: Adriana Jadlow; Lawrence: Matia Finley, E’lease Stafford; Leavenworth: Alicia Brown; Olathe North: Quentella Neal, Sabrina Prendes; Olathe East: Val Scott, Molly Taitt, Sydney Wilson; Olathe Northwest: Annemarie Boeh, Ashley Heller, Sami Marks; SM East: Hannah Nick; SM South: Elizabeth Holmes, Megan Stollsteimer; SM West: Paige Henderson.

Player of the Year: Madison Piper, Free State.

Coach of the Year: Steve Ingram, Olathe South.